Founders Day Weekend April 20-22

Founders Day weekend at Southwestern College will be Friday through Sunday, April 20-22.  Four Southwestern College halls of fame will open their doors to new inductees, and the newly-refurbished Reuter Organ will be dedicated. The celebration will include recognition of inductees entering the Leaders in Service Hall of Fame for the Social Sciences, Fine Arts, Business, and Educators Halls of Fame.

Hall of Fame festivities will begin at 5:30 p.m. on Friday, April 20, with the unveiling of plaques of those entering the Leaders in Service Hall of Fame.  At 6 p.m. there will be a dinner in Deets Library followed by the induction ceremony at 6:45. Limited seating is available and RSVP is necessary.

Saturday’s schedule begins with the unveiling of plaques honoring the inductees into the Fine Arts Hall of Fame at 10 a.m. in the Darbeth Fine Arts Center lobby.  The inauguration ceremony will be at 10:30 a.m. in Messenger Auditorium.

At 11:30 a.m., there will be a walking tour of the Richardson Performing Arts Center.

At 1:30 p.m., a reception for the Business Hall of Fame inductees will be held in the Deets Library lobby followed by the induction ceremony at 2 p.m. 

At 3:30 p.m. in Deets Library, there will be a reception for the Educators Hall of Fame inductees followed by the induction ceremony beginning at 4 p.m.

At 8 p.m., the college will dedicate the Reuter Organ followed by an organ concert featuring James Leland and James Strand.

Founders Day weekend will conclude Sunday at 3 p.m. with the Spring Choral Concert in Richardson Performing Arts Center.  There is no admission charge to the concert.

“Founders Day weekend is always an exciting time at Southwestern and this year’s celebration certainly promises to fulfill that tradition,” says Susan Lowe, director of alumni programs at SC.   “The college is honored to recognize several outstanding Moundbuilders at the four halls of fame that will take place, and we hope alumni, friends, and members of the community will join us.”

Individuals entering the various halls of fame include:
• Leaders in Service: Larry Eason ’55; Eugene Lowry ’55; Myrne (Richards) Roe ’58.
• Fine Arts: Orcenith Smith, James Strand, Jerry Thomas ’81.
• Business: Terri (McCorkle) Dalenta ’87; Ron Richardson ’83. Business Builder Award: Bob Redford.
• Educators: E. Katherine (White) Davidson ’38/’56; Anne Farmer ’97; James Wilson ’67. Marilyn McNeish Special Education award: Andrew Brenn ’01/’06.

For more information about any of the events for Founders Day, contact Lowe at (620) 229-6334.

Build an education.

Build an education.

Academic excellence sets SC apart.

41 main campus and 16 professional studies undergraduate majors, 27 minors, teacher certification in 13 areas, and 6 graduate programs.