Builders Return for Founders Day Weekend

Five Southwestern College halls of fame will open their doors to new inductees during the expanded 2009 Founders Day weekend Friday, April 17, and Saturday, April 18.  The celebration will include recognition of inductees entering the Leaders in Service, Fine Arts, Business, Educators, and Scholars Halls of Fame.
The festivities will begin at 5:30 p.m. on Friday, April 17 with the unveiling of plaques of those entering the Leaders in Service Hall of Fame.  At 6 p.m. there will be a dinner in Deets Library followed by the induction ceremony at 6:45.  There is limited seating available and RSVP is necessary.
Saturday’s schedule begins with the unveiling of plaques honoring the inductees into the Fine Arts Hall of Fame at 10:30 a.m. in the Darbeth Fine Arts Center lobby.  The inauguration ceremony will be at 11:45 a.m.
At 1:30 p.m., a reception for the Business Hall of Fame inductees will be held in the Deets Library lobby followed by the induction ceremony at 2 p.m. 
At 3:30 p.m. in Deets Library, there will be a reception for the Educators and Scholars Hall of Fame inductees followed by the induction of both groups beginning at 4 p.m.
Founders Day will conclude at 8 p.m. with the spring concert by the A Cappella Choir and the SC Singers.
“Founders Day 2009 at Southwestern College will be a celebration unlike any others in the college’s 124-year history,” says Susan Lowe, director of alumni programs at SC.  “This year, Founders Day has been expanded to become Southwestern College Hall of Fame weekend.  The halls of fame are always a wonderful opportunity to lift up outstanding Moundbuilders and recognize them for their lifetime of accomplishments.  However, this year, with the two new halls, we are especially honored to be able to pay tribute to some of the cornerstone members from Southwestern whose legacy continues on, in some cases even after their time at the college came to an end.”
Individuals entering the various halls of fame include:
• Leaders in Service: Jack Focht, ’57; Hon. Loy Henderson, ’15; Carl Martin, ’60; Kim Moore, ’71; Jim Robinson, ’80; Ed Salm; Hon. David Swartz, ’64.
• Fine Arts: Marie Burdette, ’29; Earl Dungan, ’40; Mildred (Demaree) Erhart, ’41; Helen Graham; Lauren Kilmer; David McGuire, ’47; Grace Sellers, ’27; Ross Williams, ’35.
• Business: Sue (Lewis) Hale, ’66; Jimmy Kline, ’67. Business Builder Award: Todd Gentry.
• Educators: Sally (Mann) Cauble, ’72; Gary Rhodes, ’72; Jean (Jones) Wilson, ’58.
• Scholars: Virginia Blanton, ’89; Garry Hays, ’57; Mike Robinson, ’65.
For more information about any of the events for Founders Day, contact Lowe at (620) 229-6334

Build an education.

Build an education.

Academic excellence sets SC apart.

41 main campus and 16 professional studies undergraduate majors, 27 minors, teacher certification in 13 areas, and 6 graduate programs.