Founders Weekend and Halls of Fame at SC

Plans are underway for Founders Weekend at Southwestern College, April 19-21, 2013.

Friday, April 19 will lead off with the Leaders in Service Hall of Fame for the Social Sciences, starting at 5:30 p.m. in Deets Library for dinner and the induction ceremony.  This year's inductees are Scott C. Hecht '90, Carl M. Metzger '71, and Victor C. Sherring '41 (deceased).  For reservations to the dinner event, call 620-229-6334.

On Saturday, April 20, the Fine Arts Hall of Fame starts at 10:30 a.m. with a reception in Darbeth Lobby, followed by the induction in Messenger Auditorium.  Inductees are Kenneth A. Forsyth '61, Leora K. (Martin) Kline '66, and Lou E. (Edwards) Tharp. 

The Business Hall of Fame begins at 12:30 with a luncheon and induction ceremony in Deets Library.  This year's inductees are Otis W. Morrow '70 and Leonard R. Wolfe '79.  The recipient of the Business Builder Award for 2013 is Blenda Hoskinson (College Hill Coffee).  For reservations for the luncheon event, call 620-229-6334.

At 3:30 p.m., the reception for the Educators and Scholars Halls of Fame begins in Deets Library, followed by programs for each.  Inductees to the Educators Hall of Fame are Marilyn G. (Stanton) Davidson '63, Diane K. (Ford) Nickelson '95, and Bobby Joe Slade '57.  Recipient of the Marilyn McNeish Award for Special Education is Vicki L. (Sims) Hitchcock '72.  Inductees to the Scholars Hall of Fame are Christian E. Downum '79 and J. Jubal Tiner '88.

The evening will feature musical entertainment with the Builders on Broadway Concert at 7:30 p.m. in Richardson Performing Arts Center.  For tickets, call 620-221-7720.

To round off the weekend, Sunday, April 21, from 2-8 p.m. will be South Kansas Symphony on the Prairie at the Bonfy Ranch.  For tickets, call 620-221-7720.

Build an education.

Build an education.

Academic excellence sets SC apart.

41 main campus and 16 professional studies undergraduate majors, 27 minors, teacher certification in 13 areas, and 6 graduate programs.