Eight New Members to be Inducted into SC Athletic HOF

The Southwestern College Athletic Hall of Fame will induct eight new members Saturday, Oct. 22, in Stewart Field House.  There will be a social time at 9:30 a.m. followed by the induction at 10 a.m.  The inductees will also be introduced at halftime of the Southwestern-St. Mary football game in Richard L. Jantz Stadium.  The new members are Rick Peterson, Mark Bliss, Terry Rhea, Loren Evans, Leroy Moore, Raquel (Rios) Stucky, Elliot Rodda, and Tyree Myles.

Rick Peterson, Kingsville, Texas, is a 1979 graduate of Southwestern.  Peterson is currently in his 14th season as head basketball coach at Texas A & M University at Kingsville.  He is the only coach in the school’s history to win 200 games (208-178).  His 2004 team won 19 games, finished second in the Lone Star Conference, won the South Central Regional tournament, and led to Peterson’s selection as Coach of the Year in the conference.  In his playing days, Peterson was a two-year starter at Southwestern and played on the KCAC championship teams of 1976-77 and 1977-78.  He was an All-KCAC selection in 1977.
Mark Bliss, Ozark, Mo., graduated from SC in 1987. Bliss was a three-year letter-winning quarterback at SC.  In 1984 SC finished in third place in the NAIA Championships and won the KCAC conference title in 1985. He was head football coach at Conway Springs for seven years and racked up a record of 81-4 and won four Class 3A State Championships.  He received six league Coach of the Year honors and four Kansas State Coach of the Year honors.  He is currently coaching at Ozark High School in Missouri.

Terry Rhea, Wichita, graduated in 1976.  Rhea was twice named All-KCAC first team in basketball.  In 1975, he was an NAIA All-District 10 selection. Rhea ranks third in SC basketball history for most field goals made in a single season and is still the all-time single season leader in scoring average (24.0).  He finished his career with 1,018 points.

Loren Evans, Flower Mound, Texas, graduated from Southwestern in 1969.  Evans was a first team All-KCAC selection in basketball in 1968 and in 1969.  He led the KCAC in scoring during his senior year.

Dr. Leroy Moore, deceased.  He was a 1917 graduate of Southwestern.  Moore was the first documented African-American to participate in athletics at Southwestern College.  He played football, baseball, and track despite intense racial hatred directed at him from other teams, players, and coaches.  He earned his Ph. D. in chemistry in 1944 from the University of Kansas and became the academic dean at Texas College from 1967-69.

Raquel (Rios) Stucky, Pretty Prairie, graduated from SC in 1997.  She was a four-time NAIA All-American in women’s track, an accomplishment held by only one other female track athlete at SC.  She currently holds five women’s track records.  In 1995 she was a national runner-up in the marathon.  She recently qualified for the United States Olympic trials in the marathon for 2012.

Elliot Rodda, Winfield, graduated from Southwestern in 1988.  He was a three-time NAIA All-American in men’s track.  He was the KCAC cross country champion in 1997 and the KCAC most valuable performer in track in 1988.  Rodda is currently apart of three school record relay teams.  Rodda is a physical therapist at William Newton Hospital in Winfield.

Tyree Myles, Atlanta, Ga., graduated in 1998 from SC.  Myles was a three-time first team NAIA All-American offensive lineman, the only three-time All-American in Southwestern College football history.  He was a four-time All-KCAC performer and named Most Valuable Player in 1994.

For more information about the SC Athletic Hall of Fame or the induction ceremony, call (620) 229-6218

Build a life

Build a life

Students are what make Student Life happen!

From carnivals to concerts, from Sutton Center to Campus Life, the Office of Student Affairs is available for you, the student.

learn more about student life