Southwestern College Founders Day Weekend April 11-14

Southwestern College graduates will be inducted into four halls of fame during the annual Founders Day weekend at Southwestern College Thursday through Sunday, April 11 to 14. 

The celebration will include recognition of inductees entering the Leaders in Service Hall of Fame for the Social Sciences, as well as the Fine Arts, Business, and Educators Halls of Fame.

All of the induction ceremonies along with concerts and a lecture are open to the public at no cost, but there is a cost for associated meals and seating is limited for those meals. To make meal reservations or for other information, contact Charles McKinzie at (620) 222-1135.

Festivities will begin at 4 p.m., on Thursday, April 11, with the annual Honors Convocation in Richardson Performing Arts Center.

On Friday, April 12, plaques will be unveiled for the Leaders in Service Hall of Fame for the Social Sciences.  Dinner will begin at 5:30 p.m. in Deets Library with the induction ceremony to follow. Meal cost is $20.

On Saturday, April 13, a breakfast will be held for the Business Hall of Fame in Deets Library at 8 a.m., with the induction ceremony to begin at 9 a.m. in Richardson Performing Arts Center.  Meal cost is $15.

A brunch for the Fine Arts Hall of Fame inductees will begin at 10 a.m. in Deets Library, followed immediately by the induction ceremony at 11 a.m.  The ceremony will take place in Richardson Performing Arts Center.  Meal cost is $15.

At 12:45 p.m. in Deets Library, there will be a luncheon for the Educators Hall of Fame inductees. Lunch cost is $20. At 1:30 p.m., the induction ceremony for the Educators Hall of Fame will begin, also in Deets Library. 
Other events include:

• Cheryl Rude, academic director of Leadership Southwestern, will present “The Shaping of Leaders: Women’s Voices” on Friday, April 12, at 2 p.m., in Mossman Hall room 101.
• Organ recital featuring 2016 Southwestern College graduate Luke Nicolay.  The recital will begin at 7 p.m. on Friday, April 12, in Richardson Performing Arts Center.
• The Southwestern College A Cappella Choir will present a concert on Saturday, April 13, at 7:30 p.m., in the Richardson Performing Arts Center.

Individuals entering the various halls of fame include:
• Leaders in Service: C. Michael Lennen ’67; Stephanie Sharp Bruyn ’98; and J. Michael Medina ’72.
• Fine Arts: Dr. James Leland, George Jason Johnston ’69, and Virginia (Stubbs) Spray (posthumous) ’33.
• Business: Larry Ewart ’73 and Cory Helmer ’99.  Business Builder award will be presented to Graves Drug Store.
• Educators: Dr. Gary King ’72, Judy (Martin) Haynes ’67, and Dr. Janet Doud ’16.
Southwestern College hall of fame displays are located in Mossman Hall, Darbeth Fine Arts Center, Beech Science Center, Deets Library, and Stewart Field House.

Build an education.

Build an education.

Academic excellence sets SC apart.

41 main campus and 16 professional studies undergraduate majors, 27 minors, teacher certification in 13 areas, and 6 graduate programs.