Scholars of the College Named at Southwestern

Southwestern College has announced five Scholars of the College for the 2019-2020 academic year:

Abby Bertholf Abby Bertholf, a senior from Winfield, majoring in biochemistry
Tessa Castor Tessa Castor, a senior from Clearwater, majoring in English with an emphasis in writing. Castor is also pursuing minors in Leadership and journalism
Cameron Goodrich Cameron Goodrich, a junior from Independence, is majoring in biochemistry and minoring in Leadership
Donovan McMullen Donovan McMullen, a senior from Phoenix, Arizona, is majoring in sport management
Hanna White Hanna White, a senior from Baxter Springs, is majoring in physical education and middle level mathematics education

These five students have all achieved the highest grade-point average among full-time students who are enrolled in campus-based programs, have earned 85 or more credit hours, and have not previously been named to the honor.  

“It is remarkable to be able to honor five Scholars of the College this year,” says Ross Peterson-Veatch, academic dean of Southwestern College.  “We are proud to recognize this excellent group of Moundbuilders for their dedication to their academic pursuits.  In addition to their academic achievements, each of these Scholars of the College is a leader in a variety of co-curricular opportunities and activities. Their presence in classrooms and on campus enriches our learning community and it is a joy to celebrate their accomplishments.”

Build an education.

Build an education.

Academic excellence sets SC apart.

41 main campus and 16 professional studies undergraduate majors, 27 minors, teacher certification in 13 areas, and 6 graduate programs.