Scholars Hall of Fame


Scholars HOF DisplayScholars Hall of Fame

The Southwestern Scholars Hall of Fame was established in order to honor alumni who have had distinguished careers in higher education and other venues of scholarship. The college is known for producing outstanding alumni worthy of recognition. It is the intent of the college to honor alumni who excel in careers in this realm.

For in-depth information on any subject, please refer to the Library webpage.

View the Online Scholars Hall of Fame

(Opens in a new window. Requires Flash Player.)

2018 Scholars Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony
April 14, 2018



Candidates for induction into the Southwestern College Scholars Hall of Fame will be considered for induction based on their achievements, professionalism, and character. A significant achievement is one in which the exceptional skills and abilities of the candidate are exemplified. All candidates must be attendees of Southwestern College, must have outstanding records as scholars or as leaders in advanced education beyond K-12, and must have a terminal degree (such as Ph.D., MFA, etc.)  They must also have a significant record of scholarly publishing in order to be selected.


Nominations will be received from alumni and friends of the college. In order for a nomination to be formally accepted, a completed nomination form must be submitted to the nominations committee. Nominations will be sought via college publications and communications. Once an individual is formally nominated, that name will remain eligible for selection for induction for 5 years. After that time has passed, the individual must be formally nominated again to be considered for selection. The nomination pool will be managed and maintained by the alumni department.

Scholars Hall of Fame Nomination Form

Number of Inductees

The number of inductees per year will be up to three, of which one may be inducted posthumously.   In the event that an adequate number of qualified nominations are not submitted, the selection committee reserves the right to suspend the ceremony until such time as at least two worthy candidates are submitted.

Nominations for the Southwestern College Scholars Hall of Fame may be submitted electronically via this Online Nomination Form.

Scholars Hall of Fame Members

Southwestern College alumni who have distinguished careers in higher education or other areas of scholarship are recognized as nominated for the Scholars Hall of Fame.  2004 was the inaugural year of this award.  Since that year, the distinguished Moundbuilder alumni listed below have been recognized for their work and accomplishments in the field of higher education.  The actual hall of fame display is located in the Harold and Mary Ellen Deets Library lobby on the Southwestern College main campus.

2018 Inductees
Dr. Tilghman H. Aley '48
Dr. Tara Gray '81

2015 Inductees
Philip R. Schmidt
Dale B. Sims '80

2014 Inductees
Marilyn (Brown) Corbin '70
Everett V. Samuelson '48

2013 Inductees
Christian E. Downum '79
J. Jubal Tiner '88

2010 Inductees 
Randall L. Duncan '77
John W. "Jim" Ward '50

2008-2009 Inductees 
Virginia Y. Blanton '89
Garry D. Hays '57
Michael C. Robinson '65

2007 Inductees
Daniel J. Callison '70
E. Dale Dunlap '43
David A. Nichols '60

2006 Inductees
William D. Brooks '50
L. DeWitt Clinton '68
Todd A. Diacon '80

2005 Inductees
Bruce C. Birch '62
Gene W. Gruver '65
Rex A. Wade '58

2004 Scholars (JPG)

2004 Inaugural Year Inductees
(from left to right)
William M. Cloud '47
Sidney DeVere Brown '47  
Richard H. Leftwich '41
Kenneth M. McCaffree '40
Emmet G. Smith '50

2015 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

2014 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Build an education.

Build an education.

Academic excellence sets SC apart.

36 main campus and 16 professional studies undergraduate majors, 27 minors, teacher certification in 5 areas, and 6 graduate programs.