Student, Faculty, and Staff Awards Announced at Southwestern College

Masterbuilders for the 2023-2024 academic year at Southwestern College were named during Honors Convocation Thursday, April 18.  The honor of Masterbuilder is given to graduating seniors who best typify the spirit of Southwestern.  

The Student Government Association initiates the process for naming Masterbuilders by calling for each SGA member to nominate students.  The list of students who receive votes is then submitted to a faculty vote.  Finally, the entire student body votes, choosing recipients from the names remaining on the list. 

Masterbuilders for 2023-2024 include: Cevin Clark, Arkansas City; Olivia Worsham, Medicine Lodge; Paiden Bell, Lawrence; Cierra Harrison, Cheney; Mallorie Lund, Wichita; and Jarvis Jennings, Columbia, Mo.

Dre’Shaun Flowers, McAlester, Okla., was named the recipient of the Dr. Dawn Pleas Student Affairs Leadership Award.

The Dawn Pleas Student Affairs Leadership Award celebrates a student who has been a role model on campus, regardless of whether or not they held a formal leadership position.  This award is designed to promote the Southwestern College values of personal growth, responsible citizenship, and leadership through service. 

The Student Government Association (SGA) at Southwestern College, presented the SGA faculty and staff citations.  The staff citation was awarded to Claire Nichols, director of campus life.  The faculty citation went to Tammy McEwen, professor of biology.

Build a life

Build a life

Students are what make Student Life happen!

From carnivals to concerts, from Sutton Center to Campus Life, the Office of Student Affairs is available for you, the student.

learn more about student life