SC Theatre Department to Present ‘Little Women, The Musical’

The Southwestern College theatre department will present “Little Women, The Musical” Friday and Saturday, Feb. 28 and 29, at 7:30 p.m., and on Sunday, March 1, at 2 p.m., in the Richardson Performing Arts Center on the campus of Southwestern College. 

“Little Women, The Musical” is based on the book by Louisa May Alcott, script by Allan Knee, music written by Jason Howland, and lyrics by Mindi Dickstein.

Based on Louisa May Alcott's life, “Little Women” follows the adventures of sisters, Jo, Meg, Beth, and Amy March. Jo is trying to sell her stories for publication, but the publishers are not interested – her friend, professor Bhaer, tells her that she has to do better and write more from herself. Begrudgingly taking this advice, Jo weaves the story of herself and her sisters and their experience growing up in Civil War America. 

“This season, Southwestern’s theatre department has focused on remarkable stories of women,” says director Joshua Robinson.  “What better example than the timeless classic ‘Little Women.’ Particularly with the recent release of the Academy Award winning film, the lives of the March sisters and their mother has re-entered public consciousness. We are privileged to be a part of that revival.”

Along with Robinson directing the production, Amanda Li is the musical director, and orchestra direction by Amber Peterson.

The cast includes Sam Beck, Hannah Breshears, Raynee Case, Maya Damron, Brynn Hampton, Aidan Wells Filbert, Avery Hogan, Jacob Montgomery, Emily Robinson, and Jennifer Warren.

Admission is $12 for adults, $10 for senior citizens, $6 for students, and free for Southwestern College students and employees. For tickets, or more information, contact SC performing arts office at (620) 221-7720 or (620) 229-6272 or email

“Little Women” is produced by special arrangement with Musical Theatre International.

Build an education.

Build an education.

Academic excellence sets SC apart.

41 main campus and 16 professional studies undergraduate majors, 27 minors, teacher certification in 13 areas, and 6 graduate programs.