Founders Day Weekend April 18-20

Southwestern College graduates and retired faculty will be inducted into four halls of fame during the annual Founders Day weekend at Southwestern College Thursday-Saturday, April 18-20.  

The celebration will include recognition of inductees entering the Leaders in Service Hall of Fame for the Social Sciences, as well as the Fine Arts, Business, and Educators Halls of Fame. 

All of the induction ceremonies are open to the public at no cost, but there is a cost for associated meals and seating is limited for those meals. To make meal reservations or for other information, contact Ashlee Mayo at (620) 229-6155. Reservations are needed by April 8.

Festivities will begin at 4 p.m., on Thursday, April 18, with the annual Honors Convocation in Richardson Performing Arts Center. The featured speaker will be Kalaba Chali, district superintendent for the Wichita East and West districts in the Great Plains Conference of the United Methodist Church.

On Friday, April 19, plaques will be unveiled for the Leaders in Service Hall of Fame for the Social Sciences.  Dinner will begin at 5:30 p.m. in Deets Library with the induction ceremony to follow. Meal cost is $25.

On Saturday, April 20, the induction ceremony for the Business Hall of Fame in the Christy lobby at 8:30 a.m., in Richardson Performing Arts Center.

The induction ceremony for the Fine Arts Hall of Fame will begin at 10:30 a.m., in Richardson Performing Arts Center. 

At 12 p.m. in Deets Library, there will be a luncheon for the Educators Hall of Fame inductees. Lunch cost is $25. At 12:45 p.m., the induction ceremony for the Educators Hall of Fame will begin, also in Deets Library.  

Individuals entering the various halls of fame include:

Leaders in Service:

  • Claudia Geer, retired faculty
  • Paul Bean ’85
  • Willie Williams ’68

Fine Arts:

  • Roxy (Clark) Callison ’69/’91
  • Roberta (Gilger) Banks ’72


  • Dick Barnes, retired faculty
  • Alex Gottlob ’09
  • Business Builder Award: Timber Creek Floral and Gifts


  • Stephen Peebles ’89
  • Anita (Jantz) Ewart ’74

Southwestern College Hall of Fame displays are located in Mossman Hall, Darbeth Fine Arts Center, Beech Science Center, Deets Library, and Stewart Field House.

See Founders Weekend Schedule

Build an education.

Build an education.

Academic excellence sets SC apart.

41 main campus and 16 professional studies undergraduate majors, 27 minors, teacher certification in 13 areas, and 6 graduate programs.