Faculty and Staff Honored at Southwestern

Outstanding faculty and staff were recognized at Southwestern College.  Three awards were presented Friday, April 28, for outstanding service to the college, and 21 employees were honored for years of service.

Presented were the Fassnacht Outstanding Administrator/Staff (Campus) Award to Lonnie Boyd, director of human resources; the Fassnacht Outstanding Administrator/Staff Award (Professional Studies) to Sam Clark, admissions counselor for Professional Studies; and the Fassnacht Outstanding Faculty Award to Bill DeArmond, professor of mass communications and film.

Floyd and Ruth Fassnacht established the Outstanding Faculty and Outstanding Staff awards with an endowment gift in 1988. Floyd graduated from Southwestern College in 1929 with a degree in chemistry. He was a member of the Alpha Beta Alpha honor society. Floyd began working for Phillips Petroleum in 1940 as a lab chemist. In 1948 he became chief chemist in charge of all plant products, and assisted in the development of aviation fuel for World War II. He retired from the company in 1973 as assistant superintendent of Phillips Kansas City Refinery.

Floyd and Ruth were significant donors to the college during their lifetimes, also providing a major gift for construction of the Beech Science Center, naming the Fassnacht Research Laboratory. Floyd received the Southwestern College Alumni Recognition Award in 1997.

Raquel Resendiz, director of campus life at Southwestern College, presented the SGA faculty and staff citations during the ceremony.  The staff citation was awarded to Brae Wood, director of Leadership Southwestern.  The faculty citation went to Pat Ross, professor of biology.

Awards for years of service were also presented for:

  • 45 years: Bill DeArmond
  • 35 years: Allyson Moon, Timothy Shook
  • 30 years: Michelle Boucher, Bob Gallup
  • 25 years: Lisa Braun, Michael Tessmer
  • 20 years: Charles Osen, Stephen Woodburn
  • 15 years: Kristin Humphreys, Kristen Pettey, Lock Schnelle, Jimmie Tagg
  • 10 years: Shelley Fisher, Jacob Goodson, Jeremy Kirk, Stephen McCann
  • 5 years: Lori Richey, J.K. Campbell, David Youland, and John Wallace.
Build an education.

Build an education.

Academic excellence sets SC apart.

41 main campus and 16 professional studies undergraduate majors, 27 minors, teacher certification in 13 areas, and 6 graduate programs.